Meet your new councillors

Election results announced

Votes have been counted and seven Councillors appointed, following the City of Gosnells Local Government elections at the weekend.

When polls closed at 6pm on Saturday 21 October, 27.91 per cent of enrolled electors in the City of Gosnells had cast their votes.

This was the highest voter participation rate in the past 10 years, up from 24.19 per cent in 2015.

From the 31 candidates competing for a place on Council, the following candidates were elected for a four year term:

  • Peter Abetz
  • Carey-Ann Brett
  • Julie Brown
  • David Goode
  • Julie Jones
  • Olwen Searle

Serena Williamson was elected for a two year term.

They will join existing Councillors Glenn Dewhurst, Dave Griffiths, Terresa Lynes, Ron Mitchell and Liz Storer, whose terms on Council will expire in 2019.

Olwen Searle, Julie Brown and David Goode were re-elected, while Peter Abetz, Carey-Ann Brett, Julie Jones and Serena Williamson were elected to the City of Gosnells Council for the first time.

City of Gosnells Chief Executive Officer Ian Cowie thanked former Councillors Bill Wiffen and Peter Griffiths, who last week ended their terms on Council, for their time and service.

Councillors will elect a Mayor, Deputy Mayor and delegates to committees and advisory groups during a Special Council Meeting at 6pm tonight.

For more information on tonight’s Special Council Meeting or the Local Government elections, visit the City’s website. Additional information on the Local Government election results can be found at the WA Electoral Commission website

Did you find this page helpful ?

Please type the code in the box below: