Civic Centre and Front Sign


The City of Gosnells District is represented by 12 elected members, known as Councillors. The term of office for a Councillor is four years and elections are held every second year on the third Saturday in October.

The next Local Government election is scheduled for Saturday 21 October 2017.

  • 1 September 2017 - Electoral Roll closes
  • 7 September 2017 - Nomination for candidates opens
  • 14 September 2017 - Nominations for candidates closes at 4pm
  • From 2 October 2017 - Electoral voting packages posted to all persons on the electoral roll for the district of Gosnells as well as the Owners and Occupiers Roll
  • 17 October 2017 - last day for WA Electoral Commission to receive completed ballot papers
  • 21 October 2017 - Civic Centre Polling place open from 8am to 6pm for replacement and completed ballot papers.  Counting of votes commences shortly after 6pm
  • 23 October 2017 - Special Council Meeting at 6pm at the Civic Centre for the swearing in of new Councillors and to elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

The last election was held on Saturday 17 October 2015. At each election, half of the Council positions are declared vacant and a poll is conducted to determine the incoming Councillors.

The City holds postal elections, which are conducted on the City's behalf by the Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Voting in elections

Voting papers are mailed to every person appearing on either the Residents Roll or the Owners and Occupiers Roll approximately four weeks prior to the Election Day. More information on Enrolling to Vote is in the Related Links below.

Nominate to be a Councillor

To stand for election as a Councillor, you must:

  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Be an elector of the district (if you are only an elector because you are a nominee of a company then you are not eligible to stand)
  • If you are a current Council member, have a term that ends on Election Day.

More information for Candidates can be found below.